Omega Ensemble: Russian Romantics

A rare example of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s departure from orchestral writing, the attention-grabbing Quintet for Piano and Winds embodies the powerful rhythms and boastful textures of the composer's larger works but jam-packed into an ensemble of just five. Anton Rubinstein’s work of the same name presents itself as a strong challenger, in which the virtuosic writing for the piano amply reflects the composer’s recognition in his own lifetime as one of the world’s greatest pianists. These two masterworks are accompanied by an even rarer work from the great Sergei Rachmaninoff's, whose Romances are one of only seven chamber works written by the composer, and presented here in a special arrangement for clarinet by Artistic Director David Rowden.

Anton Rubinstein: Quintet for Piano and Winds in F major, Op. 55
Sergei Rachmaninoff: 2 Romances [arr. D. Rowden]
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Quintet for Piano and Winds in B-flat major
Duration: 90 mins without interval (approx.)

  • 1 Laman Street, Cooks Hill, 2300
  • Adult - $69
  • Child - $39
  • Concession - $59
  • Group - $49