Omega Ensemble: Brahms, Bruch and Smalley

When Johannes Brahms wrote his two Sonatas for Clarinet and Piano in 1894, he published an accompanying version written for viola. He, like many composers since, considered the two instruments to be interchangeable in their unique range and depth of expressiveness, and the two works remain important foundational works for both instruments equally.

In this revealing program, the two Sonatas are presented side-by-side for both clarinet and viola with the late Australian composer Roger Smalley’s Trio, which uses fragments from Brahms’ Sonatas to construct a vibrant work that is, at once, full of Romantic gestures and contemporary complexity. The ever-popular Concerto for Clarinet and Viola by Max Bruch accompanies these works in a setting for trio, arranged by the composer.


Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat, Op.120, No.2
Roger Smalley: Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano
Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op.120 No.1
Max Bruch: Concerto for Clarinet & Viola Op.88 (arr. by the composer for Viola, Clarinet and Piano)

Duration: 90 mins without interval (approx.)

  • 1 Laman Street, Cooks Hill, 2300
  • Adult - $69
  • Student - $39
  • Concession - $59
  • Group - $49