Carrington Heritage Walk - Newcastle


Join guides Liza Moss and Paul Cooke on a unique walk around the inner Newcastle suburb of historic Carrington.

Locals may know Carrington as “Carradise”, but the Carrington of the 19th Century was a much saltier place with a multitude of pubs serving sailors from around the world. Drainage problems bedevilled efforts to establish a township and the name “Carrington” in honour of the state governor was only adopted in the 1880s after a series of other names.

This walk will look at Carrington’s industrial past and civic development, as well as some episodes of notoriety.

The original Aboriginal name for this area was Onebygamba, meaning ‘a large island’. Colonel Paterson led a colonial expedition into the Hunter region in 1801, and renamed it Chapman Island, later it became known as Bullock Island, but Onebygamba was used for the Post Office and Public school. The name Carrington came with incorporation in 1887.

This guided walking tour will delve into the remnants of Carrington’s early industrial past including the impressive Carrington Pump House as well as civic buildings such as the former Carrington Council Chambers, and domestic architecture. News making events will also be covered: accidents and crimes as well as occasions of civic pride.

  • 106 Bourke Street, Carrington, 2294
  • 06 July 2024
  • 18 September 2024
;