Valery Gergiev conducts Widmann, Brahms, and Shostakovich — With Leonidas Kavakos

The walls of Carnegie Hall hum with the thrill and intensity of this program presented by the Munich Philharmonic under the direction of eminent maestro Valery Gergiev and featuring Greek violin virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos!

This concert is available at 5pm on June 19 through our subscription. Select 'Newcastle Public Library' then log in with your library card number. This concert will remain online for later viewing.


  • Jörg Widmann, Con brio, Concert Overture for Orchestra
  • Johannes Brahms, Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
    • 1. Allegro non troppo
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace
  • Georges Enescu, Impressions d'enfance, Op. 28
    • The Fiddler
  • Dmitri Shostakovich, Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47
    • 1. Moderato — Allegro non troppo
    • 2. Allegretto
    • 3. Largo
    • 4. Allegro non troppo

  • 15 Laman Street
  • 19 June 2020