Sir Antonio Pappano conducts Verdi, Prokofiev, and Respighi - With Martha Argerich

In 2017 Martha Argerich returned to Carnegie Hall for the first time in nine years to play one of her signature pieces, Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3. Joining her were Rome's Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, returning to the celebrated venue after a 48-year absence, their music director Sir Antonio Pappano in his Carnegie Hall debut!

This concert is available at 5pm on May 15 through our subscription. Select 'Newcastle Public Library' then log in with your library card number. This concert will remain online for later viewing.


  • Giuseppe Verdi, Sinfonia from Aida
  • Sergei Prokofiev, Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op. 26
    • 1. Andante - Allegro
    • 2. Tema con variazioni
    • 3. Allegro, ma non troppo
  • Maurice Ravel, Ma mère l'Oye
    • III. Laideronnette, Impératrice des Pagodes – Mouvement de marche
  • Ottorino Respighi, Fontane di Roma
    • I. La fontana di Valle Giulia all'alba
    • Ii. La fontana del Tritone al mattino
    • III. La fontana di Trevi al meriggio
    • IV. La fontana di Villa Medici al tramonto
  • Ottorino Respighi, Pini di Roma
    • I. I pini della Villa Borghese
    • II. Pini presso una catacomba
    • III. Pini del Gianicolo
    • IV. I pini della Via Appia
  • Jean Sibelius, Valse triste
  • Gioachino Rossini, Guillaume Tell
    • Overture

  • 15 Laman Street
  • 15 May 2020 to 31 August 2020